4260352760373 2020-07-27
In stock

Caldera Records is proud to present the original score for the motion picture “Man at
the Top” from 1973, directed by Mike Vardy, featuring music by Roy Budd.
Writer John Braine established Joe Lampton as a ruthless force to be reckoned with
when he published his novel “Room at the Top” in 1957. The film rights were snatched
up immediately, and only two years later, Jack Clayton’s adaptation premiered in theaters.
Following another outing in the cinema and a television series, Anglo-EMI, in collaboration
with Hammer Films, decided to let Joe Lampton (now played by Kenneth
Haigh) loose on the big screen once more. In 1973, “Man at the Top” premiered. Here,
Joe Lampton is appointed Managing Director of ChemExport, a company overseen by
Lord Ackerman, played by Harry Andrews. All is not well: six months later, it emerges
that Lampton’s predecessor committed suicide. Slowly it becomes clear to Lampton
that he might have been appointed to take the blame for a massive marketing blunder
that could crush not only him but the whole company.
Kenneth Haigh was delighted when he heard that Roy Budd had been contracted to
write the music for “Man at the Top” since the actor had admired Budd’s music for a
long time, especially “Get Carter”. His score for “Man at the Top” is quite similar to his
most beloved composition in that it is equally sparse. The composer devised a simple
motif for the titular character which is introduced on a cimbalom and which recurs
throughout the whole score. Apart from the Hungarian instrument, Budd employs
strings, flute, piano, harp and percussion to create a tense atmosphere fitting for the
film. His leitmotif is particularly clever since, in its coldness and restraint, it doesn’t
try to make Joe Lampton likeable, and yet manages to underscore the more tender
moments in the film with a slight tension that the images lack. Moreover, “Man at the
Top” gave Budd the opportunity to provide two memorable jazz pieces as source cues
for dinner parties.
The 37th CD-release of Caldera Records features a detailed booklet-text by Stephan
Eicke and elegant artwork by Luis Miguel Rojas. The CD was produced by Stephan
Eicke and John Elborg.


1. Opening (1:21)
2. Main Titles (1:18)
3. End Credits (1:45)
4. The Journey Continues (0:54)
5. Man at the Top (2:26)
6. Night is Falling (2:44)
7. Bedtime (3:58)
8. In the Woods (2:48)
9. Peeping Robin (0:28)
10. Change of Plan (1:12)
11. Bossa Nova (3:26)
12. In the Office (0:22)
13. Joe is Being Followed (1:06)
14. Swept Up in Memories (1:31)
15. In the Woods (alt.) (1:37)
16. Mingle With Me (5:55)
17. Demo Jingle (2:20)
18. You Can Never Trust a Friend (2:49)

More Information
Formato CD
Data pubblicazione 2020-07-27
Write Your Own Review
You're reviewing:MAN AT THE TOP